Creating Work I Love

Posted on August 12, 2010

4


Like many people, I lost my job over a year ago and I haven’t had any luck finding a new one.   In the big, cosmic picture, it was the best thing that could have happened to me.  It was the wrong place, at the wrong time, doing the wrong thing.   The fact that it’s been so tough to find a job further convinced me that I was going in the wrong direction.

Working independently is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time, but fear held me back.  What I’ve come to realize is that everyone has those fears and insecurities.  For me, it’s time to push past them.  A lot of hard work is involved, a lot of courage too. I once heard someone say that if you’re not at least a little scared by the work, the sacrifice, and by taking the leap, you probably don’t know what the hell you’re getting yourself into.  So, if you’re feeling trepidation about taking a leap into something new, you’re on the right path.

I decided take control of finding and creating my own work and doing my part to revitalize the city that I love dearly. Over the past year, I’ve spent many hours thinking about what it is that I have to offer my community as a valuable service.   What experience and strengths are in demand?  I’ve also thought about how I like spending my time, what makes me excited, and what I’m good at.  The things I love to do are:

  • Photography
  • Design
  • Writing
  • Marketing
  • Learning new things (I’m a classic Myers Briggs ENFP)
  • Counseling
  • Relationship Development
  • Problem Solving

I’ve also considered what skills I have that are needed that I can further develop:

  • Online and Social Media Marketing
  • Public Relations

After a lot of consideration, and some time volunteering with some local businesses, I’ve decided to launch myself as a consultant to small business and local artisans, to help them build their businesses using Marketing and Public Relations.  Not only do I believe this is a great fit for my skills and talents, I also think there’s a need for it.  There are so many hard working entrepreneurs and talented artists that can really benefit from a dedicated person working an engaging website, maintaing a presence of Facebook, Twitter, etc, and creating and posting engaging images that highlight their products for current and future customers.  The web is an amazing, low cost tool to grow a business, if you have the time to use it and keep up with it.  That’s the niche I can fill.

The journey begins……

Is there a project you’ve been dreaming of starting but haven’t yet?  Why?  What’s holding you back?

